Skip to Content


Virginia & Lillio Academy

Can I use Lillio Academy for PD hours in Virginia?

Yes! Lillio Academy is approved by the Virginia Department of Education in alignment with Virginia Early Learning and Development Birth to Five Standards.

Please Note: All Webinars and Lillio Basic Courses must NOT be submitted to your registry. They do not meet specific learning requirements for the state and will not be accepted if submitted.

Sign up for Lillio Academy to complete your professional development hours at your convenience! You can work at your own pace from wherever you want. Once you complete a course, you can download your certificate! 

Virginia Child Care Training Requirements: 

In accordance with 22VAC40-185-240, all providers in the state of Virginia are required to complete 12-16 hours of professional development annually, based on the date of hire. Program directors and staff who work directly with children are required to attend staff development activities in relation to child safety and development and the function of the center. These hours increase based on years of experience:

  • First year - 12 hours annually

  • Second year - 14 hours annually

  • Third year - 16 hours annually

Staff development activities may include up to 2 hours of training in first aid or cardiopulmonary resuscitation but may not include rescue breathing and first responder, training in medication administration, or daily health observation of children as required by subsection D.

Training topics are in alignment with The Virginia Competencies for Early Childhood Professionals: 

  • Health, safety, and nutrition practices

  • Understanding child growth and development

  • Appropriate child observation and assessment

  • Partnering with families and communities

  • Learning environment

  • Effective interactions

  • Program management

  • Professional development

Click here to learn more about the courses Lillio Academy offers covering required training topics! 

Opening a facility or beginning work in the childcare field:

If you are interested in opening a child care program or working in the child care field, please contact your state licensing agency for your state's specific requirements, rules, and regulations. The Virginia licensing website can be found here.

Last Updated: May 2024

Though Lillio attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, educators are individually responsible for understanding the submission and approval process of all professional development and licensing work in their state.

Browse Courses